Hit and Run

Hit-and-run is another serious offense under California law. Whether the collision entails multiple cars, pedistrains, or bicyclists, anyone who leaves the scene following involvement or causing an accident can be charged with hit-and-run. The seriousness of the charges will depend on whether the accident involved property damage, injury, or death. If convicted, the driver faces fines, a license suspension, probation, and possibly even incarceration. However, it may be possible to avoid some or all of these repercussions for the individual facing the charges. Sometimes a carefully negotiated plea bargain can reduce or eliminate punishment. In other cases, it may be possible to create reasonable doubt of the driver’s guilt and win an acquittal.

California enforces strict penalties for hit and run cases. A hit and run may qualify as a felony or a misdemeanor, depending upon the situation.

  • Misdemeanor hit and run: this type of hit and run is one which causes minimal property or personal damage. If found guilty of a misdemeanor hit and run, you may face a county jail prison term of up to 1 year and a fine of $1,000 to $10,000.
  • Felony hit and run: a felony hit and run is a hit and run which causes permanent bodily injury or the death of one or more of the people involved in the accident. This may include a state prison sentence of 2, 3, or 4 years, a county jail term of at least 90 days to 1 year, and/or a $1,000 to $10,000 fine.

With either type of California hit and run, the court will use the defendant’s ability to pay the fine as a determining factor in setting the amount of said fine. Seeking a lawyer legal service prior to the afore mentioned court proceeding may not only help keep the cost of the fine to a minimum, but greatly aid in a positive outcome of the court case.